23: Engineer: Cooking with Barbie

When I think about an engineer, I think about trains. When I think about trains, I think about the trains carrying coal through the mountains. When I think about the mountains, I think about my family. My granny lived in Richlands, Virginia and she used to make homemade “granny biscuits” from scratch whenever we came to visit. When I thought about “granny biscuits,” I started thinking about cooking utensils and possible utensils that could be substituted for a Barbie doll. For example:

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Photo taken by me. Includes cooking utensils-a potato scrubber, a baster, a spatula, a potato-masher, a rolling pin, tongs, & a wire wisk-that could be replaced with a Barbie doll.

Instead of donating old Barbie’s, place dolls in storage and save them for dorm life. One Barbie can create a rough substitute for 8 kitchen utensils. In addition, using one Barbie as a substitute for 8 utensils will save space in the kitchen.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s hair as BBQ basting brush.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s legs as a substitute for a spatula to stir vegetables, soup, etc.
*Note: The white glob on the right side of the pot is just bacon grease! It seasons green beans with excellent flavor.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie as a “wire whisk” to beat eggs or mix cake batter.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s hand to measure a pinch of salt.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s hair to scrub a potato before baking.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Raise Barbie’s arms and use her as a rolling pin. Things got a little sticky for my photo because I simply used flour & water to create the dough–I’m sure it’d work a little better with Pillsbury biscuits or pizza dough.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s hands as tongs to grab pasta noodles or salad.

COOKING WITH BARBIE: Use Barbie’s feet to mash potatoes.

About emilyyrae

I'm Emily. I'm 19. I love cooking & traveling. I'm addicted to shopping, especially at Target. My favorite restaurants are the Blue Heron, Carrabba's, and Sakura's Japanese Steakhouse. Halloween is my favorite holiday.

Leave a comment